2014 David Gemmell Award Winners Announced

emperor of thornsThe winners of the 2014 David Gemmell Awards have been announced.

The top prize, the Legend Award for best fantasy novel, went to Mark Lawrence for Emperor of Thorns.  The Morningstar Award for best debut novel was for Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan (reviewed here).  And the Ravenheart Award for best cover art went to Jason Chan for Emperor of Thorns.

Adventures Fantastic would like to congratulate all the nominees and especially the winners.  More detail can be found at the David Gemmell Awards page.

2 thoughts on “2014 David Gemmell Award Winners Announced

    1. Keith West Post author

      Yes, I’m happy the results.

      I haven’t read Emperor of Thorns nor any of the others on the Legend shortlist, although I’ve read some of the earlier books in their respective series. Consequently I didn’t vote in this category. I really enjoyed Prince of Thorns but haven’t gotten around to King of Thorns yet. (Need to do something about that. Likewise the Brett and Lynch titles.)

      For the Morningstar, I preferred The Path of Anger, although Promise of Blood was a close second, so I’m happy with that one.

      I had no strong feelings for the Ravenheart (I liked them all), although I preferred Promise of Blood slightly more than the others. But I have no complaints any of the winners.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *