Congratulations to the World Fantasy and British Fantasy Awards

Winners of the British Fantasy Awards and the World Fantasy Awards were announced over the weekend at the World Fantasy Convention in Brighton, England.  Adventures Fantastic would like to congratulate all the nominees, and especially  the winners.

The winners of the British Fantasy Award, awarded by the British Fantasy Society, include

Best Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)
Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)
Last Days, Adam Nevill (Macmillan)

Best Novella
The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine, John Llewellyn Probert (Spectral)

Best Short Story
“Shark! Shark!”, Ray Cluley (Black Static #29)

Best Collection
Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine)

Best Anthology:
Magic: An Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, Jonathan Oliver, ed. (Solaris)

A complete list of winners can be found at the British Fantasy Society site, and a complete list of nominees in all categories can be found at the 2013 British Fantasy Awards page.

The winners of the World Fantasy Awards are:

Life Achievement:
Susan Cooper
Tanith Lee

Alif the Unseen, G. Willow Wilson (Grove; Corvus)

“Let Maps to Others”, K.J. Parker (Subterranean Summer ’12)

Short Story:
“The Telling”, Gregory Norman Bossert (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 11/29/12)

Postscripts #28/#29: Exotic Gothic 4, Danel Olson, ed. (PS Publishing)

Where Furnaces Burn, Joel Lane (PS Publishing)

Vincent Chong

Special Award Professional:
Lucia Graves for the translation of The Prisoner of Heaven (Weidenfeld & Nicholson; Harper) by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Special Award Non-Professional:
S.T. Joshi for Unutterable Horror: A History of Supernatural Fiction, Volumes 1 & 2 (PS Publishing)

The complete list of nominees can be found at the World Fantasy Awards page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *